Historical accounts show that what is now the present municipality is a part of the municipal district of the sub-province of Bontoc of the old Mountain Province. It has a recorded population of 49 in 1903 and increasingly in the succeeding years. It only became a regular municipality on July 25, 1963 by virtue of Presidential Executive order no. 42.

Economic Development

Sabangan is situated along the scenic view of the Chico River inhabited by peace loving and hardworking people where the main source of income and livelihood were derived from farming, vegetable gardening, hog raising and others as skilled workers such as carpenters and laborers, where they are most employed in other municipalities and province particularly Benguet Province and Baguio City. One of the strengths of the municipality was traversed by two big rivers where farm expansion is a potential as well as potable water supplier to nearby municipalities.

Socio Cultural Development

Famous Igorot people inhabited the municipality with “ Kankana-ey” as their major dialect. They are characterized as helpful people manifested by the spirit of Bayanihan and “Og-ogbo” System which is the unity of helping and accomplishing field labor especially in times of hardship & bereavement. They were also inborn lovers of adventure which so explain the slow increase in population that indicate the out-migration of residents to seek greener pasture.

Political/ Administrative/ Fiscal Development

The first known town mayor named Songuitan (One name) died during his term due to a horse accident on official travel to the municipality of Tadian. He was the Town mayor who served the longest term from 1916 to 1945. The following are historical list of the municipal mayors with their corresponding period of incumbency:

  1. Songuitan 1916-1945
  2. Ceferino Codiamat 1945-1946
  3. Alejandro Dominguez 1946- 1949
  4. Constancio Velasco (OIC) 1950-1952
  5. Teofilo Pilando 1953-1955
  6. Honorio Dominguez 1956-1958
  7. Alejandro Copicop 1959-1967
  8. Fernando Budod Sr. 1968-1971
  9. Corpus Velasco 1964-1967
  10. Fernando Budod Sr. 1968-1971
  11. James Guidangen 1972-1979
  12. Fruto Likigan 1980-1986
  13. Teodoro Salupen (OIC) 1986-1987
  14. Marcial Lawilao Sr. 1988-1992
  15. Alfonso P. Budod Sr. 1992-1995
  16. .Marcial Lawilao Sr. 1996-1998
  17. Alfonso P. Budod Sr. 1998 – 2001
  18. Jupiter C. Dominguez 2001-2007 (Two terms)
  19. Donato L. Danglose 2007 –2010-2013-2016 (Three terms)
  20. Venancio E. Lipawen 2016 – 2019
  21. Marcial Jr. C. Lawilao 2019 – Present

Component Barangays

The municipality is politically subdivided into fifteen barangays grouped into four areas. Area I which is located in the northern side of the town comprises barangay Tambingan, Supang and Data. The central barangays of Lagan, Losad and Poblacion, located along the banks of the Chico River comprises Area II. Area III comprises barangay Pingad, Bun-ayan, Bao-angan, Camatagan and Gayang which are the upper barangays south of the town. Area IV comprises the southernmost barangays of Namatec, Busa, Capinitan and Napua which are all within the Bauko borders.

It is composed of 15 barangays, Six (6) of which were created by virtue of RA 3590, otherwise known as the revised barangay Charter. The following shows the legal basis and dates of creation of the barangays.

BarangayLegal Basis of CreationDateName of Barangay
1. Bao-anganMun. Resolution no. 5 January 31, 1972 Bun-ayan
2. Bun-ayanExisting brgy. Prior to RA 3590Bun-ayan
3. Busa Provincial Board Res. No. 150 Sept. 4, 1970Capinitan
4. CamataganProvincial Board Res. No. 118 April 7, 1972Pingad
5. CapinitanProvincial Board Res. No. 22Jan 26, 1968Namatec
6. DataExisting brgy. Prior to RA 3590 Data
7. Gayang Existing brgy. Prior to RA 3590 Gayang
8. Lagan Existing brgy. Prior to RA 3590 Lagan
9. Losad Provincial Board Res. No 19 Feb. 23, 1971Poblacion
10. NamatecExisting brgy. Prior to RA 3590 Namatec
11. Napua Provincial Board Res. No. 15 Feb. 23,1971Namatec
12. PingadExisting brgy. Prior to RA 3590 Pingad
13. Poblacion Existing brgy. Prior to RA 3590 Poblacion
14. SupangExisting brgy. Prior to RA 3590 Supang
15. TambinganMun. Resolution no. 2Jan. 16, 1972 Lagan


The municipality of Sabangan lies in the southeastern side of Mountain Province and falls within the latitude of 120º 53’ to 121º and longitude of 16º 51″ to 17º 02’.  It is bounded on the north by the municipalities of Sagada and Bontoc, on the east by the province of Ifugao and both south and west by municipality of Bauko.

Located 18 kilometers away from Bontoc and 129 kilometers away from Baguio City, it could be reached through the Halsema Highway, Sabangan-Cervantes Road and Bontoc via Tinglayan and Banaue.

Sabangan has an average elevation of 2,070 meters above sea level.  The highest is 2,714 meters at the peak of Mt. Kalawitan while the low-lying barangays of Poblacion, Lagan and Losad record the lowest elevation with an average of 1,100 meters.  The terrain is generally rugged and mountainous. About 86.58% of the total land area is hilly with forest covered slopes.

Income class

Sabangan is a fifth class municipality.

Demographic profile 

MayorMarcial Jr. Capsuyen Lawilao
Vice MayorDario Panagan Esden
Area10,749 Has.
Total Population (MHO 2017)
Population Growth Rate (2010-2017)
Number of Households MHO 2017
Average Household Size5
Population Density900/sq.km.
Number of public elementary schools19
Number of public high schools4
Number of private high school1
Number of Day care centers24
Number of Rural health Unit1
Number of Barangays15
Number of Barangay health stations9
Number of households with income below poverty threshold ( CBMS 2013)797
Number of households with income below food threshold (CBMS 2013)
Number of unemployed of the labor force (CBMS 2013)429